• Awards and honors
  • Education headlines
  • Media resources
  • Minnesota Educator

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year program, now in its 52nd year, is the oldest and most prestigious recognition program in Minnesota to honor excellence in education.

This award honors a member, local union or intermediate organization that has worked to protect educators' and students' human rights.

Recognize the work of a member who has engaged educators, parents and the community on social justice issues.

Submit nominations by Jan. 11 to honor educators with outstanding professional practice.

Awards and recognition for our members from other organizations. Submit your announcement to along with your local union name and a link to the organization bestowing the award.

The Peterson-Schaubach Outstanding Leadership Award is given annually to an Education Minnesota leader (local or state) who has made outstanding contributions to Education Minnesota or its locals through demonstration of Education Minnesota’s Statements of Principle.

All nominations must be submitted by a Governing Board member.
Chrome or IE browsers recommended.

Nominations for this year's award are now closed.

Peterson-Schaubach Award Winners

2016    Bob Millette, Education Minnesota Fairmont, Local 7084
2015    William Hjertstedt, Elk River Education Association, Local 7079
2014    Kit Hawkins, Rochester Education Association, Local 7225
2013    Mary Cathryn Ricker, St. Paul Federation of Teachers, Local 0028
2012    Lynette Wayne, Education Minnesota – Hastings, Local 7106
2011    Janet Luttmers, Winona Education Association, Local 7290
2010    John Mueller, St. Paul Federation of Teachers, Local 0028
2009    Sharon Kjellberg, Mounds View Education Association, Local 7180
2008    Mary Broderick, St. Cloud Education Association, Local 7250
2007    Carmen Peters, Sauk Rapids-Rice Education Association. Local 7236
2006    Julie Jagusch, Anoka-Hennepin Education Minnesota, Local 7007
2005    Judy Rohde, North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale Education Association, Local 7192
2004     Jim Smola, Dakota County United Educators, Local 2006
2003    William Rasmussen, Bloomington Federation of Teachers, Local 1182
2002    Warren Bradbury, St. Cloud Education Association, Local 7250  
2001    Sandra Peterson, Robbinsdale Federation of Teachers, Local 0872
and Judy Schaubach, State Residential Schools Education Association, Local 7258


Stories from media sources around the state, updated Monday through Friday    

News releases for the current year and previous years. Most recent:

Biographies of the three officers elected to lead Education Minnesota

We publish the Minnesota Educator monthly for our members. Follow the link above for other editions, as well as our print and website advertising rate cards. The most recent issue:

May 2016
Representative Convention, Lawsuit challenges tenure laws, How Political Action Committee works, Teacher of the Year finalists, Student Program members’ service work, Legal Briefs, Opportunities