Home Member Portal Governance Intermediate Organizations

Intermediate Organizations

Share on
EmailTwitterFacebookLinkedIn

Intermediate organizations (IOs) are regional groupings of locals – both ESP and teacher – working together on issues of common interest.

Education Minnesota has 21 IOs across the state. Each IO has a unique voice, reflective of the geography, size, and history of its locals. IOs promote strong, effective locals. They foster solidarity among locals, and they provide support systems that allow members to develop at the local, regional and state levels. The IO philosophy is driven by the belief that locals will achieve their objectives most effectively by acting in unison with other locals.

When IO leaders from across the state meet, they focus on strategies and tactics that IOs may use to:

  • Increase member engagement in union activities.
  • Develop and implement plans that focus on racial and social justice.
  • Support election campaigns and pro-public education activities at the Legislature.
  • Offer meaningful professional development and union trainings.
  • Build effective communication structures within locals and IOs.
  • Enhance regional power.

Education Minnesota state level IO staff contact: 
Sara Schumacher
sara.schumacher@edmn.org

Find your IO:

Intermediate Organization map
PDF, 24 pgs., 5MB

Here are Education Minnesota’s IOs, along with their current member leaders and the Education Minnesota staff who work with the IO:

Angela Pedace
apedace@faribault.k12.mn.us
pedace@hotmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Scott Allen, field staff 
scott.allen@edmn.org

Donna Leff, office assistant 
donna.leff@edmn.org

Adam Tervola-Hultberg
ahultberg@isd116.org

Education Minnesota staff:
Rose Lendt, field staff
rose.lendt@edmn.org

Monica Sturm, office assistant 
monica.sturm@edmn.org

Tracy Detloff
detlofft@nls.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Kari Rehrauer, field staff
kari.rehrauer@edmn.org

Deb Zinda Hanson, office assistant
deb.zindahanson@edmn.org

Rachel Arens
rachel.arens@milaca.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Emily Mateo, field staff
emily.mateo@edmn.org

Monica Sturm, office assistant
monica.sturm@edmn.org

Mark Swenson
mlswenson@gra.midco.net
mswenson@egf.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Blake Plankers, field staff
blake.plankers@edmn.org

Rhonda Hopkins, office assistant
rhonda.hopkins@edmn.org

Brett Frafford-Olson
bfolson@wheaton.k12.mn.us, bfraffordolson@gmail.com

Melanie Stier
mstier@osakis.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Michelle Jensen, field staff
michelle.jensen@edmn.org

Rhonda Hopkins, office assistant
rhonda.hopkins@edmn.org

Jackie Stevens
jlstevens2@gmail.com
jstevens@moraschools.org

Education Minnesota staff:
Sandy Miller, field staff
sandy.miller@edmn.org

Clara Waddell, office assistant
clara.waddell@edmn.org

Kelly Benson
kelly.benson@jccschools.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Brian Michelson , field staff
brian.michelson@edmn.org

Jim Schmidt, field staff
james.schmidt@edmn.org

Alicia Entinger, office assistant
alicia.entinger@edmn.org

Matthew Wilmes
mwilmes@lewalt.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Linda Pfeilsticker, field staff 
linda.pfeilsticker@edmn.org

Karen Martinez, office assistant
karen.martinez@edmn.org

Julie Sandstede
jsandstede@vmps.org
sandstedeclan@gmail.com

Tara Wainio
twainio@isd712.org

Education Minnesota staff:
Joe Cerar, field staff
joe.cerar@edmn.org

Evan Sandstede, field staff
evan.sandstede@edmn.org

Sarah Hron, office assistant
sarah.hron@edmn.org

Mara Gust
mmgust@greenbush.k12.mn.us
maragust3@gmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Kevin Young, field staff
kevin.young@edmn.org

Andrea Johnson, office assistant
andrea.johnson@edmn.org

Denise North
dnorth@isd100.org

Education Minnesota staff:
Kathleen Adee, field staff 
kathleen.adee@edmn.org

Melinda Thibault, office assistant
melinda.thibault@edmn.org

Marty Fridgen
marty.fridgen@edmn.org
fridgen.marty@gmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Steve Winge, field staff 
steven.winge@edmn.org

Wendy Nelson, office assistant
wendy.nelson@edmn.org

Kay Carlson
kaylcarlson@gmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Katy Tharaldson, field staff 
katy.tharaldson@edmn.org

Taylor Jacobs, office assistant
taylor.jacobs@edmn.org

Becki Church
beckichurch@gmail.com
bchurch@fed.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Jodi Meyer, field staff
jodi.meyer@edmn.org

Clara Waddell, office assistant
clara.waddell@edmn.org

Lisa Jackson
ljacks1@isd77.org
lisajackson1974@hotmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Jan Anderson, field staff 
jan.anderson@edmn.org

Donna Leff, office assistant
donna.leff@edmn.org

Kelly Geiger
Mkngeige@paulbunyan.net, Kgeiger@clbs.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Vanessa Pulkrabek, field staff
vanessa.pulkrabek@edmn.org

Andrea Johnson, office assistant
andrea.johnson@edmn.org

Lisa Olson
ereapresident@gmail.com

Education Minnesota staff:
Dennis Fischer, field staff
dennis.fischer@edmn.org

Christeen Gotsch, office assistant
christeen.gotsch@edmn.org

Jennifer Stehr
jenifer.stehr@district196.org

Education Minnesota staff:
Cheryl Rosheim, field staff
cheryl.rosheim@edmn.org 

Teresa Gregory, office assistant
teresa.gregory@edmn.org

John Vossen
john.vossen@komets.k12.mn.us

Education Minnesota staff:
Bret Behnke, field staff
bret.behnke@edmn.org

Karen Martinez, office assistant
karen.martinez@edmn.org